Reelsaw vs Klap

Klap alternative: unlimited clips on your own machine

Klap prices by clips per month and bundles publishing to TikTok, Instagram and LinkedIn. Reelsaw prices nothing: it is open-source software that turns long videos into vertical clips on hardware you control, and leaves publishing to you.

Below is what Klap's pricing page showed when checked, what Reelsaw does for the same job, and when each is the better pick.

Pricing checked 2026-10-18 on each vendor's public page. Vendors change plans without notice; verify before you buy.

What Klap costs

Three plans measured in clips per month, shown with yearly billing (the toggle says yearly saves 50%).

Klap plans
PlanPriceWhat it includes
Basic$14/mo billed yearly100 clips a month, AI clipping, unlimited TikTok, Instagram and LinkedIn accounts, analytics
Pro$39/mo billed yearly300 clips a month, same features
Pro+$94/mo billed yearly1,000 clips a month, same features

Monthly prices, a free plan, watermark policy and export resolution were not shown as plain text on the page when checked.

What Reelsaw costs for the same job

The software is free under the AGPL-3.0 and there is no hosted plan to upsell you to. What you pay for is the machine it runs on and, only if you choose cloud models, the per-call price of those models.

Fully local: Ollama for the language model and Speaches (Whisper) for transcription. The installer picks a model by GPU memory or RAM (qwen2.5:14b with 24 GB of RAM or a 12 GB GPU, qwen2.5:7b from 12 GB, gemma3:4b below that), reuses one Ollama already has, and puts both on an NVIDIA GPU when there is one. Nothing leaves the box and there is no per-minute cost at all.

With cloud models: set OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, Groq, Deepgram, AssemblyAI or any OpenAI-compatible endpoint as a provider:model string and you pay that vendor's metered price for transcription minutes and a few thousand tokens of selection per video. There is no Reelsaw margin on top.

Klap vs Reelsaw, feature by feature

Klap and Reelsaw compared
ReelsawKlap
Runs fully local, no API keysYes, and it is the installer's default: Ollama for the language model, a local Whisper for transcription, on-device alignment and face detection. Nothing leaves the machineNo, the video is uploaded to the vendor
Model providersAny, for each of the three models separately: OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, Groq, Deepgram, AssemblyAI, Vercel AI Gateway, Ollama, vLLM, LM Studio or any OpenAI-compatible server. No vendor is baked in; admins switch at runtimeKlap's own models; not configurable
Entry price$0. AGPL-3.0 software; you supply the machine and, if you want cloud models, the API keys$14/mo billed yearly (Basic, 100 clips/mo)
Free tierEverything, with no plan and no meterNo free plan listed
WatermarkNeverNot stated on the pricing page
Open sourceYes, AGPL-3.0, pure TypeScriptNo
Self-hostableYes: Docker Compose, one-command installer for macOS, Linux and WindowsNo, cloud only
AI moment detectionYes: map, pool, rank with pairwise comparison; any language model, optional separate judge modelYes
Face-tracked 9:16 reframingYes: face, split, stack and fit layouts per segment; 1.2 MB UltraFace detector on the CPUYes
Word-level captionsYes: karaoke highlight, AI-picked key words, boxed or outlined, drag positions on a live previewYes
Filler and false-start removalYes: jump cuts located by forced alignment, each one reviewableNot stated on the pricing page
AI dubbing / translationNoNot stated on the pricing page
Direct social publishingNo. Export zip with paste-ready text, a YouTube Data API body and a TikTok post body per clipYes: unlimited TikTok, Instagram and LinkedIn accounts, with analytics
Agent and API accessMCP server (Streamable HTTP, OAuth optional) and an operator CLINot stated on the pricing page
Usage capNone100, 300 or 1,000 clips a month by plan
Accounts and teamsMulti-user with admin approval, per-user quotas and usagePro+ is positioned for teams

What Klap does better

Which one should you pick?

Pick Klap if

  • You post straight from the tool and want the analytics in the same place.
  • You never want to think about a server.
  • Your volume fits a 100-clip tier and yearly billing is fine.

Pick Reelsaw if

  • You want more than a fixed number of clips a month, or you batch-process back catalogues.
  • You need the source video to stay private.
  • You want an MCP server and CLI so an agent or script can drive the whole pipeline.
  • You want to pick the language and transcription models yourself, including fully local ones.

Common questions

Does Klap have a free plan?

Its pricing page listed no free plan or trial length when checked on 2026-10-18, only Basic, Pro and Pro+ with yearly prices.

Is Reelsaw really unlimited?

Yes. There is no quota in the software. Throughput is set by your hardware and, with cloud models, by their rate limits. Admins can set per-user quotas on a shared install if they want to.

Can Reelsaw post to TikTok or Instagram for me?

No. Export all gives you every clip with a paste-ready caption, a YouTube Data API body and a TikTok Content Posting API body, so a script or agent can publish; Reelsaw itself does not hold social accounts.

Related comparisons

Sources

Last updated 2026-10-18.